The Project

In response to the Daily Prompt: Re-springing Your step

Tell us about the last experience you had that left you feeling fresh, energized, and rejuvenated. What was it that had such a positive effect on you?

It was actually a week ago that I experienced this moment after such a long time. A friend of mine has been working on a project with a coworker, who recently got her PhD in Sociology,  to interview couples about dating, marriage, and family. Their goal is to get different perspectives on life after marriage and on life after children. Once all these ideas are put together they will write a book about it.

Well, my friend emailed me about the project and asked me if I would like to be part of it. I thought, why not. He filled me in about the questions I would be asked but more importantly he told me it would be a great experience. I wasn’t sure what he meant by that but I was very excited to be part of the project.

Saturday came and we met at 1 pm at my home since it had to be a private interview. My husband and I had to be interviewed in separate rooms so we wouldn’t hear each others answers. The interviewee pulled out a questionnaire that seemed endless but she explained that if I ever felt uncomfortable about any questions I had to let her know.

The first questions were very simple and easy to answer. They were mostly about where I grew up, my family, and what type of job I had. As the interview moved forward the questions were starting to get a bit more personal. I was asked how I met my husband, how I knew he was the one, and why I decided to marry him. That was only the beginning. Later on, I was asked when did I know it was the right time to start a family and if I could go back would I choose differently.

I normally don’t open up to people right away, especially if I’ve never met them before, but I trust my friend and I knew this was part of the process.

Finally, what seemed hours which really were only 3, I was asked what  kind of future do I see for my daughters and what I plan on teaching them as they get older. These questions actually got me thinking a lot and I couldn’t answer them clearly because I had never thought about my daughters futures. Then the question that followed pretty much summed up how blind I have been about my purpose as a mom. “Do you think you are a good mom? If so, what makes you a good mom?” Blank. I eventually answered but I know that I’m still working on the mom part because it’s only the beginning.

After the interview was over and my husband and I said our goodbyes to the interviewee, we looked at each other and smiled. We immediately felt different. I felt energized with joy because it was such a great experience sharing our life with someone else. Reminiscing on our life on how it used to be to how it is and what I would want it to be made me feel very positive on the outlook of how things have worked out. It was very eye opening and it knocked some sense into me.

It was a good experience, as my friend had stated, and my husband agreed. We spent all afternoon talking about future plans and how far along we’ve come and grown.

I’m glad I agreed to be part of the project.

One thought on “The Project

Leave a comment